Professors Blaire Van Valkenburgh, Brad Shaffer, and Peter Narins Recently Inducted into the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Emeritus Professors Blaire Van Valkenburgh and Peter Narins, as well as Professor Brad Shaffer, who were elected in 2022, were recently honored and inducted into the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (AAA&S). The ceremony took place on September 30th, 2023 at the Kresge Auditorium at MIT, in Cambridge, MA. The AAA&S was founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, John Hancock, and other prominent “scholar-patriots” who contributed to the establishment of the new nation, its government, and its Constitution. Some of the members are George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Charles Darwin, Nelson Mandela, Mary Leakey, Martin Luther King, Jr., and this year’s inductees Glenn Close, Laurence Fishburne, Claudine Gay, and Walter Allen.