Several Department Graduate Students receive 2021 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Awards and Honorable Mentions

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

As the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. The reputation of the GRFP follows recipients and often helps them become life-long leaders that contribute significantly to both scientific innovation and teaching.

This year, several of EEB's graduate students, both current and incoming, have been named among awardees and honorable mentions:

Current students
Alejandra Gamboa (Pinter-Wollman lab) – awardee
Conner Philson (Blumstein lab) – Honorable Mention
Shawn Schwartz (Alfaro) – Honorable Mention
Ricky Wolff (Garud lab) – Honorable Mention
Maddie Zuercher (Grether & Shier lab) – Honorable Mention

Incoming students
Joanna Wu (Tingley lab) – awardee
Cynthia Frausto (Nonacs lab) – Honorable Mention

For more information on the fellowship, please visit NSF GRFP. For the full list of awardees and honorable mentions, please visit here.