The Chair’s office coordinates of planning EEB’s programs in teaching, research, and other functions.   Responsibilities include:

  • Curriculum and course management for the departments majors and minors
  • Recruitment, selection and evaluation of the faculty and staff
  • Faculty-initiated events including the Seminar Speaker Series (link to news and EEBtv)
  • Oversight of the department finance affairs
  • The custody and authorized use of University property assigned to the department
  • Appointment and support the various department committees.

Department Chair

Name Title Room Email Phone
Karen Sears Professor and Chair 4113 Life Sciences Building ksears@ucla.edu 310-206-3541

Chief Administrative Officer

Name Title Room Email Phone
Eric Wells Interim Chief Administrator Officer for EEB 2311 Life Sciences Building ewells@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-8445

Chair’s Assistant

Name Title Room Email Phone
Sheena Sanchez Chair’s Assistant 120 Hershey Hall ssanchez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-2590

Student Affairs

Name Title Room Email Phone
Jessica Angus Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer 101 Hershey Hall jangus@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680
Jessica Gonzalez Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer 101 Hershey Hall jessgonzalez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680
Eileen Mansoorian Manager of Undergraduate Advising 103 Hershey Hall emansoorian@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680

Scheduling and Evaluations

Name Title Room Email Phone
Ana Padilla Scheduling and Evaluation Coordinator 133 Hershey Hall apadilla@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1268

Instructional Laboratory Support

No items found

Financial Services Team

Name Title Room Email Phone
Victor Jimenez Assistant Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall vjimenez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-0907
Robert Kunst Senior Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall rkunst@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3225
Jared Retamoza Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall jretamoza@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9587
Gabby Rozenbergaite Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall grozenbergaite@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-2084

Please see the reference list of fund managers and PI assignments

BioAdmin CAO

Name Title Room Email Phone
Paula Yau BioAdmin CAO 238 Hershey Hall pyau@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9584

Academic Personnel

Name Title Room Email Phone
Rebecca Ger Academic Personnel Specialist- 233 Hershey Hall rger@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6444
Allison Ouchi Academic Personnel Specialist 233 Hershey Hall abouchi@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-794-2135
Theresa Reyes Academic Personnel Supervisor 233 Hershey Hall theresar@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3599

Staff Personnel

Name Title Room Email Phone
Ellen Damshenas Staff Personnel Specialist 230 Hershey Hall ellenevad@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1271
Latricia Ford Payroll Personnel Specialist 230 Hershey Hall lford@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3036
Ora Rutherford-Green Staff Personnel Supervisor 236 Hershey Hall ogreen@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3924

Building Operations Manager

Name Title Room Email Phone
Joel Latimer Building Operations Manager 249 Hershey Hall jlatimer@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6770

Building and Operations Office

Name Title Room Email Phone
Humberto Barba Facilities Assistant, Storeroom Supervisor 1002 Tersaki Life Science Bldg hbarba@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4179
Guillermo Castillo Assistant Building Manager 1002 Terasaki Life Sciences Bldg gcastillo@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9836

Storeroom, Receiving, Reprographics

Name Title Room Email Phone
Alberto Gonzalez Storeroom 1005 Tersaki Life Sciences Building albertog@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3598
Carlos Negrete Stores Worker 1005 Terasaki Life Sciences Building cnegrete@lifesci.ucla.edu (310) 825-3598
Julio Zabala Torres Stores Worker 1005 Terasaki Life Sciences Bldg zabalatorresj@ucla.edu 310-825-3598

Life Sciences Instrumentation Facility

Name Title Room Email Phone
John Milligan Electronics Technician A339 LSB eshop@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4279

Drosophila Media Facility

Name Title Room Email Phone
Maritza Interiano Fly Lab 4912 Life Sciences Building 310-206-4079
Robert Taylor Media Manager 4912 Life Sciences Building flyguy@ucla.edu 310-825-6476

Plant Growth Center

Name Title Room Email Phone
Weimin Deng Greenhouse Manager 119 PGC wdeng@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4687

Computing Services Manager

Name Title Room Email Phone
Jonathan Rodgers Computing Services Manager 205 Hershey Hall jrodgers@ucla.edu 310-206-0049

Administrative and Academic Web Development

No items found

Desktop Computer Support

Name Title Room Email Phone
Tom Carpio Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall tcarpio@lifesci.ulca.edu 310-206-4042
Mike Davis Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall miked@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-4665
Ray Yamauchi Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall ryamauchi@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-0858

Instructional Development and Web

Name Title Room Email Phone
Kristin Hartman Instructional Website Administrator webteam@lsic.ucla.edu
Web Team Course web site facilitation webteam@lsic.ucla.edu

Academic/Research Support

Name Title Room Email Phone
Dr. Jane Shen-Miller E&SS 5676 Geol shenmiller@biology.ucla.edu 310-825-1170

Diving Safety Officer

Name Title Room Email Phone
Mike Anghera Diving Safety Officer 2890 SH manghera@ucla.edu 310-206-5808

Life Sciences Divisional Computing – Network Services

Name Title Room Email Phone
Help Desk Help Desk helpdesk@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1000
Martin Funches Database Administrator 268 Hershey Hall martinf@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6152
Marcello Giannoni Programmer/Analyst III 261 Hershey Hall marcello@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-6200
Derek Igarta Senior Network Analyst 210 Hershey Hall digarta@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-4824
Leila Montero Network Analyst 210 Hershey Hall lmontero@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-7638
Facile Retta LS Computing support 264 Hershey Hall fretta@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-794-4181
Babak Saberi Director, LS computing 300 Hershey Hall babak@ucla.edu 310-825-9753
Yun Shen LS Computing Support 264 Hershey Hall yshen@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-8564

Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden

Name Title Room Email Phone
Dr. Anthony Baniaga Herbarium Curator abaniaga@ucla.edu 310-825-3620
John Cluff Gardener bgstaff@lifesci.ucla.edu
Jules Cooch Manager of Public Outreach & Education 103 LKGP julesc@ucla.edu 310-825-1260
Suzanne Gagliano Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Terry Huang Assistant Garden Director Botany Building terryhuang@ucla.edu 310-825-1260
Dr. Tom Huggins Herbarium Collections Manager 124 Botany Building huggins@ucla.edu
Adam Long Nursery Technician
Janice Shintaku Assistant Director of Development jshintaku@support.ucla.edu
Dr. Victoria Sork Director - Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden 4139 Terasaki Life Science Bldg vlsork@ucla.edu 310-825-7755
Mike Thompson Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Henry Varney Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Theo Vuduris Nursery Technician tvuduris212@ucla.edu

Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve

Name Title Room Email Phone
Dr. Gary Bucciarelli Senior Staff - La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science
Director of Research - Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve
garyb@ucla.edu 310-825-5063
Dr. H. Bradley Shaffer Director - La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science
Director - Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve
300 La Kretz Hall brad.shaffer@ucla.edu 310-825-3836

Staff

Name Title Room Email Phone
Mike Anghera Diving Safety Officer 2890 SH manghera@ucla.edu 310-206-5808
Jessica Angus Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer 101 Hershey Hall jangus@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680
Dr. Anthony Baniaga Herbarium Curator abaniaga@ucla.edu 310-825-3620
Humberto Barba Facilities Assistant, Storeroom Supervisor 1002 Tersaki Life Science Bldg hbarba@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4179
Dr. Gary Bucciarelli Senior Staff - La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science
Director of Research - Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve
garyb@ucla.edu 310-825-5063
Tom Carpio Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall tcarpio@lifesci.ulca.edu 310-206-4042
Guillermo Castillo Assistant Building Manager 1002 Terasaki Life Sciences Bldg gcastillo@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9836
John Cluff Gardener bgstaff@lifesci.ucla.edu
Jules Cooch Manager of Public Outreach & Education 103 LKGP julesc@ucla.edu 310-825-1260
Ellen Damshenas Staff Personnel Specialist 230 Hershey Hall ellenevad@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1271
Mike Davis Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall miked@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-4665
Weimin Deng Greenhouse Manager 119 PGC wdeng@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4687
Help Desk Help Desk helpdesk@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1000
Latricia Ford Payroll Personnel Specialist 230 Hershey Hall lford@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3036
Martin Funches Database Administrator 268 Hershey Hall martinf@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6152
Suzanne Gagliano Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Rebecca Ger Academic Personnel Specialist- 233 Hershey Hall rger@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6444
Zan Ghe Financial Manager 230 Hershey Hall zan@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-4934
Marcello Giannoni Programmer/Analyst III 261 Hershey Hall marcello@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-6200
Jessica Gonzalez Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer 101 Hershey Hall jessgonzalez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680
Alberto Gonzalez Storeroom 1005 Tersaki Life Sciences Building albertog@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3598
Kristin Hartman Instructional Website Administrator webteam@lsic.ucla.edu
Terry Huang Assistant Garden Director Botany Building terryhuang@ucla.edu 310-825-1260
Dr. Tom Huggins Herbarium Collections Manager 124 Botany Building huggins@ucla.edu
Derek Igarta Senior Network Analyst 210 Hershey Hall digarta@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-4824
Maritza Interiano Fly Lab 4912 Life Sciences Building 310-206-4079
Victor Jimenez Assistant Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall vjimenez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-0907
Robert Kunst Senior Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall rkunst@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3225
Joel Latimer Building Operations Manager 249 Hershey Hall jlatimer@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-6770
Adam Long Nursery Technician
Eileen Mansoorian Manager of Undergraduate Advising 103 Hershey Hall emansoorian@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1680
John Milligan Electronics Technician A339 LSB eshop@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-4279
Leila Montero Network Analyst 210 Hershey Hall lmontero@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-7638
Carlos Negrete Stores Worker 1005 Terasaki Life Sciences Building cnegrete@lifesci.ucla.edu (310) 825-3598
Allison Ouchi Academic Personnel Specialist 233 Hershey Hall abouchi@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-794-2135
Ana Padilla Scheduling and Evaluation Coordinator 133 Hershey Hall apadilla@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-1268
Jared Retamoza Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall jretamoza@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9587
Facile Retta LS Computing support 264 Hershey Hall fretta@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-794-4181
Theresa Reyes Academic Personnel Supervisor 233 Hershey Hall theresar@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3599
Jonathan Rodgers Computing Services Manager 205 Hershey Hall jrodgers@ucla.edu 310-206-0049
Gabby Rozenbergaite Fund Manager 240 Hershey Hall grozenbergaite@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-2084
Ora Rutherford-Green Staff Personnel Supervisor 236 Hershey Hall ogreen@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-3924
Babak Saberi Director, LS computing 300 Hershey Hall babak@ucla.edu 310-825-9753
Sheena Sanchez Chair’s Assistant 120 Hershey Hall ssanchez@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-2590
Dr. H. Bradley Shaffer Director - La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science
Director - Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve
300 La Kretz Hall brad.shaffer@ucla.edu 310-825-3836
Yun Shen LS Computing Support 264 Hershey Hall yshen@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-8564
Dr. Jane Shen-Miller E&SS 5676 Geol shenmiller@biology.ucla.edu 310-825-1170
Janice Shintaku Assistant Director of Development jshintaku@support.ucla.edu
Dr. Victoria Sork Director - Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden 4139 Terasaki Life Science Bldg vlsork@ucla.edu 310-825-7755
Robert Taylor Media Manager 4912 Life Sciences Building flyguy@ucla.edu 310-825-6476
Web Team Course web site facilitation webteam@lsic.ucla.edu
Mike Thompson Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Erin Toffelmier Associate Director-California Conservation Genomics Project
Henry Varney Gardener bgstaff@ucla.edu
Theo Vuduris Nursery Technician tvuduris212@ucla.edu
Eric Wells Interim Chief Administrator Officer for EEB 2311 Life Sciences Building ewells@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-8445
Ray Yamauchi Desktop Support Technician 200 Hershey Hall ryamauchi@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-206-0858
Paula Yau BioAdmin CAO 238 Hershey Hall pyau@lifesci.ucla.edu 310-825-9584
Julio Zabala Torres Stores Worker 1005 Terasaki Life Sciences Bldg zabalatorresj@ucla.edu 310-825-3598