Department News


Professor Kirk Lohmueller receives Searle Award

Congratulations to Dr. Kirk Lohmueller for receiving a Searle Award. Dr. Lohmuellor from the Department of Ecology and Evolution was hired through the Computational Bioscience Initiative. The Searle Scholars Program supports research of outstanding individuals who have recently begun their appointment at the assistant professor level, and whose appointment is their first tenure-track position at a participating academic or research institution. Applicants are expected to be pursuing independent research careers in biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and related areas in chemistry, medicine, and the biological sciences. Each year 15 new individuals are named Searle Scholars. Awards are currently set at $100,000 per year for three years. Since its inception, 527 Scholars have been named and over $111 million has been awarded.